Leadership: Executive

The Ragon Institute is the best immunology research ecosystem on the planet—with a diverse ecosystem of scientists, research, facilities, and infrastructure.

The Ragon is led by Director and Chief Executive Officer, Bruce D. Walker, M.D., and Associate Director and Scientific Director, Facundo Batista, PhD.

Bruce D. Walker, MD



Facundo Batista, PhD

Associate Director and Scientific Director


Kristen Massimine, PhD

Executive Director

Marco Muñoz

Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives


Mark Schmeissing

Executive Director of Finance

Steering Committee

Ulrich H.von Andrian, MD

Professor of Immunopathology, Harvard Medical School

Dan Barouch, PhD

Professor of Medicine, Harvard University

Facundo Batista, PhD

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Harvard Medical School

Dennis Burton, PhD

Chairman, Scripps Department of Immunology

Mary Carrington, PhD

Visiting Professor, Harvard University

Arup Chakraborty

Professor of Chemical Engineering, Physics, & Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Darrell J. Irvine, PhD

Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Department of Biological Engineering and Science & Engineering

Bruce D. Walker, MD

Co-Leader, Massachusetts Consortium on Pathogen Readiness (MassCPR)

Explore More

Administration and Operations

The Administrative and Operations team manages the Ragon’s operations, administrative, and logistical functions.

Clinical Team

The Ragon’s clinical research focuses on clinical studies in infectious diseases such as HIV and COVID-19.

Leadership: Faculty

The Ragon’s faculty includes many of the world’s most creative scientists, engineers, and clinicians.